The Advocate reports on a two-vehicle collision that injured five people. According to authorities, the accident occurred at the intersection of Scotland Avenue and Thomas Road at around 7 p.m.
When responders arrived, they found that the force of the impact had ejected one of the passengers, a 2-year-old girl, from the vehicle. She sustained moderate injuries, as did four other individuals who were involved in the wreck.
Responders transported all five victims to the hospital for treatment. None of the injuries appeared to be life threatening. Police claim that the 2-year-old child was either not sitting in a car seat or was not properly secured at the time of the collision.
If you or a loved one was injured in a crash that another driver caused, contact Laborde Earles Law Firm. Our award-winning legal team will evaluate your case, gather evidence, interview witnesses, and help you fight for the maximum payout. Call 800-522-6733 to schedule a free consultation with an auto accident attorney in Baton Rouge.
How Do Seatbelt Laws Affect Injury Claims?
In the state of Louisiana, there are specific child restraint laws for children of various ages. Adults must also wear seatbelts, regardless of whether they are driving the vehicle or riding as a passenger.
The enforcement of seatbelt laws in Louisiana is primary, which means a police officer may pull you over if you are not wearing a seatbelt. Some states have secondary seatbelt laws, which means police may only cite you for a seatbelt violation if they have already pulled you over for a different traffic infraction.
State police take seatbelt laws seriously, as do auto insurance providers. If you sustained serious injuries in a collision that was not your fault but you were not wearing a seatbelt at the time of the accident, it could affect the amount of compensation you can recover.
What Is Comparative Negligence?
The state of Louisiana follows the pure comparative fault rule when awarding compensation in personal injury cases. That means your award will be reduced by your percentage of fault. For example, if you are awarded $100,000 but the court determines that you were 20 percent at-fault for your injuries, your recovery would be $80,000.
It is very common for multiple parties to share liability for car accidents, so it is important that you gather extensive evidence to prove that the other driver is liable for your damages. This is where an attorney can help.
A Baton Rouge personal injury lawyer from Laborde Earles Law Firm can investigate your case and gather evidence to prove negligence, liability, and the value of your damages. In addition to medical records, photos of the crash scene, and the police report, we may use testimonies from medical experts, financial experts, and accident reconstruction experts to support your claim.
Call 800-522-6733 to schedule a free consultation. You can learn more about car accident claims in Louisiana by visiting USAttorneys.com.